What makes a good poet?

In my creative writing workshop, I have been introduced to poets such as Les Murray, John Keats, and Jim Dickey. All are poets that are well known throughout the poetry community, for their style, craft, and their voice. I can only imagine how hard it is to make your name known throughout the poetry community. Poetry is an art so it is highly subjective, yet there are some poets such as Emily Dickinson , William Blake, and Sylvia Plath who are widely known as exceptional poets. That being said, if poetry is such a subjective art form, then what makes a good poet? In my workshop we have only covered some of the basics of poetry: the stanza, line breaks, and concrete vs. abstract imagery. These are some techniques that good poets use, indeed, but I do not thing that is all that being a good poet entails.
Every week or so in my workshop, we receive a writing prompt and I have the joy of reading all of my peers’ works. I have observed that some writers in my class are very good writers. In fact, I compare some of my peers to some of my favorite poets. Personally, I want the confidence in knowing that I am writing something worthy of reading. Currently I think that my writing is mediocre, and way too predictable. While I have been writing since middle school, it has not necessarily been writing to improve my writing, but just writing to let my thoughts out. I did not take my form in to account. That being said since this workshop has started, I have seriously been considering what makes a good poet. I believe I have come up with a rough idea of what (objectively) makes a good poet. The criteria that defines good poetry is captivating voice, diction and syntax, the use of poetic elements, and consistency. Utilizing these factors optimally as a poet leads to quality writing, as well as a general respect from peers.
In my opinion, the quality of a poet that stands out most to me is their voice. The voice of a poet does not exactly make the poem, but it is a necessary assistance that all poets need in their poem. It helps to know that Sylvia Plath is often depressive, or that Charles Bukowski is cynical and critical. A poet’s voice brings a personal aspect to the poem that gives it substance and timelessness in the event that a poet becomes renown. In my workshop, some of the most talented peers have a distinct voice, where you can feel that they are actually living vicariously through their words. It is an admirable trait, in my opinion, to be an undergrad poet that is not well established but also have a distinct voice. I often feel as if my voice is all over the place (if there is one at all), and I am working to make a consistent one. That being said, I think that the only way to fully develop your voice is to practice, practice, practice. Practice with an intent of conveying a certain voice. Write poem after poem with the awareness of how you are sounding throughout the poem, and your poetry will improve ten-fold.
What makes up a voice? The voice of a poet is conveyed primarily through the words that they use as well as how those words are arranged. Some poets use complex, uncommon words with an emphasis on metaphors and allusions to create their voice. Other poets can be more simple and direct, but still have an esoteric vibe that is conveyed throughout their poetry. The best way to find the words and sentence structure that suits you best is to read a lot. Other writers will give you ideas on how to write and will allow you to relate to a more diverse spectrum of syntax and diction. For example, a lot of Edgar Allan Poe’s poetry is imaginative, suspenseful, with a hint of mysticism. I long for a style of poetry that captures the modern view of today’s society, with Poe’s imagination, so I like to read Poe to get an idea of what words to use when, and how to form my sentences. Of course, you aren’t going to draw examples from just one poet, but that is simply an example to think about. The diction and syntax are all about words. Read a dictionary, read some stories, and practice your increasing vocabulary to improve you diction and syntax, and thus your voice.
So how can a poet construct their diction and syntax to bring out their voice (if you haven’t noticed, I’m building here)? That, ladies and gentlemen, depends on their use of literary elements. This includes metaphors, allusions, end rhyme, slant rhyme etc. The use of literary elements gives credibility to the poet as well in that he or she is credited with knowing the different ways to write. Also, different literary elements can convey the same message in different ways. Using the American flag as a metonym for America might be a more engaging way to express feelings toward america than saying America is like (insert comparison here). Literary elements give you the freedom to construct your message however you want, and however you want is dependent on your voice.
The last criteria for making a good poet, and thus increasing a poets credibility, is their consistency. How often does a poet put out great works that utilizes their voice, diction, and literary elements in their poems? Does it always send a message effectively? Can their writing thrive amongst a plethora of subjects? Through consistency, the audience can build their reasons for liking a poet. The more people that like a wide range of your poems, the more renown you will become. Learn from your past poems, edit your past poems, and above all keep writing. The consistency will build from the criteria I have presented asa well as practice.
In the end, what makes a good poet is still purely subjective, but I have noticed that some of the best poets have these certain attributes. You may or may not have a more descriptive criteria of what makes a good poet, but from my understanding these are commonplace throughout all poetry. I can only hope that I follow my own criteria so I can consistently make good poetry with a voice thats my own.

Leave a comment